Google Photos is now more intelligent, but will it nag incessantly?

"When they share their library with you, you can automatically save the photos you want so they also show up in search and in the movies, collages and other fun creations Google Photos makes for you", Google wrote in a blog post.

At Google I/O 2017, the company unveiled a number of improvements for its photo app, putting more distance between Google Photos and the stock iOS Photos app. According to the Chatbase site, you can use it to track metrics like active users, sessions, or retention; and view metrics based on sentiment, intent, or chat platform. Three new features are being added to the app to make it easier to send and receive moments in your life.

This is another feature which builds upon the same concept - eliminate the photo begging process. Tag your friend in a photo! The pictures will now all be in a single place, "including-and especially-the photos you didn't take". If these don't convince you to ditch iOS Photos and switch over to Google Photos, then it's hard to imagine what will. Technology doesn't work perfectly, and people make mistakes. It can even figure out who's in the photos and instantly share it with them when you click - no tagging or time-consuming entering email addresses required. The two of you split and you both forget to turn it off.

With the new update Google has you covered. You can even direct the camera at a photo of a Wi-Fi name and password to be instantly connected to that network.

For example, if a husband and wife have a shared library of family photos, the wife can see in the library photos of the husband's day out with the kids, but not photos of the husband's night out with his friends. It's your decision whether to press send, but this can be an unsettling experience, and sometimes fingers slip. Add to that a wealth of sharing options, and you've got the quintessential photo management app.

Once you choose the photos you want to share via Google Photos and the recipients, those people will get a notification that photos have been shared with them. Sharing occurs through the app if the other users have Google Photos, or via email or SMS otherwise.

You will be able to use this feature in the new Sharing Tab on Google Photos.

Interestingly, he said the new features won't deepen Google's understanding of the social connections among users. I rely on auto-uploading on every phone I use, in the knowledge that otherwise they'd sit on random devices and memory cards and eventually be lost without trace or inadvertently wiped.

We've seen these situations, or their potential, in other applications of artificial intelligence and automation by Google.

Another innovation was the ability to access their materials for Trustee.


Popular

CONNECT